When I get on an airplane and see people in Christian garb, I’ve got to tell you: I get nervous

And who wouldn’t? I mean, when you consider that, these days, Christian garb is mostly an assortment of tee-shirts with audacious or even combative statements plastered across the front of them. Don’t see too many clerical collars out there any more and what few nuns are left kicked the habit years ago.

Even though I think NPR was just plain idiotic for firing Juan Williams, I can’t agree with his remark. Maybe because I have Muslim friends, but I don’t see anything frightening about their traditional attire. It’s just quaint ethnic clothing like German Lederhosen, French Berets, Texan boots and Baltimore Raven’ beer-helmets. But those Christians – have you ever read some of their tee-shirts? Kinda nutty, in a scary way. What is it that they are trying to say, anyway?

Hey, how come, if the Muslims are supposed to have such a war-like faith, they don’t wear tee-shirts like these? ( And isn’t that last one a baby’s “onesie”? Jeesh!)


, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Amanda on November 16, 2010 - 5:19 pm

    Wow, I am christian, thankfully not a weird-in your face-strange teeshirt-bumper sticker-bracelet-wearing christian. But I am christian, and i thought this was really funny. And even funnier that your first name is Christian!

  2. #3 by 1sttime0ffender on November 16, 2010 - 6:24 pm

    I don’t blame Juan Williams for having a natural reaction to what does and doesn’t make him nervous. I have a preconceived image of what a terrorist looks like. Just as I have a preconceived image of teen mother, meth addicts or car jackers look like. I am not proud of this fact, but I am certainly not ashamed either.

    • #4 by Christian Beyer on November 16, 2010 - 6:47 pm

      Yep. Me too. I think NPR and CAIR over-reacted big time.

  3. #5 by logiopsychopath on November 17, 2010 - 12:24 am

    I heard, and read, from radical scholar Noam Chomsky, that PBS (the TV cousin of NPR) has a narrow set canon. Those outside of the established mindset of the “public” broadcasting folks are marginalized.

    So, the Juan Williams thing is no surprise (no matter how illogical Mr. Williams might wax).

    The war themes on “Christian” clothes are a bit worrisome, are they not? How can followers of the Prince of Peace have such a violent base, so to speak?

  4. #6 by Alex on December 2, 2010 - 2:07 pm

    On a somewhat different but kinda similar note, did you read awhile back about the nutso who started attacking a greek orthodox priest b/c he looked like a terrorist: http://www.tampabay.com/news/publicsafety/crime/article1050707.ece

Leave a Reply

