Another example of people stepping all over God’s Word

First there was the Jesus on the Dashboard. Then we had WWJD bracelets, followed by Testa Mints, The Armor of God Pajamas and any one of hundreds of  Christian- slogan tee-shirts.  What would God’s Enterprising Spirit call Christian entrepreneurs to come up with next?

From Tampa Bay Online:

Teacher puts heart and sole into faith-inspired sandals

TAMPA – Shannon Hayes is no prude, but when she saw the young teens at the beach acting out, one thought went through her head:

“If they had a few Scriptures to help lead them, maybe they wouldn’t act that way.”

On that day, a seed was planted in Shannon’s mind, something she couldn’t shake.

Beach flip flops imprinted with Scriptures!

“We hear so much about Christians walking the walk,” she says. “So if you had a little reminder on your shoes, that could be a gentle nudge to stay in the word.”

“I know what a divine calling is now,” Shannon says. “I know that sounds kinda weird, but I really do feel that God told me to do this. And I see that every time I’m worried or stressed out about something, he points me in a new direction and it all works out. So I know it was the right thing to do.”

In October, Shannon introduced her line of Walk the Walk flip-flops. She chose five Scriptures relating to the Christian walk and five colors. She sells them for $20 (shipping extra) on her Web site – http://www.walkthewalkflipflops.com – and recently got her first retail location at Inspired Christian Gifts, 4017 Henderson Blvd. in south Tampa.

What’s next? Christian underwear? Oh, too late. (blush!)

But seriously, does anyone really think this is going to work? Will it help adventurous Christian kids to remain virtuous? Well, at least it might scare away members of the opposite sex. But do they really think it will help non-Christian kids to seriously consider the faith? I guess it really doesn’t matter, as long as they sell.

In the three or four years that I wore those goofy Christian tee-shirts not one person ever approached me and said: “Hey, man. I really like what your shirt says. Tell me more about this Jesus fellow.” Now I wear them only when working around the house but if I hit my thumb with the hammer I still let loose with the F-Bomb.  I doubt if faith-flops would help  any better.

,

  1. #1 by theologigal on July 9, 2010 - 2:44 pm

    Riiiight… because flip flops will induce behavior modification… and because behavior modification is what Christianity is all about, right? (Please note a lot of sarcasm there!)

    I wore WWJD bracelets back in the day when I wasn’t even a Christian, but in deep east Texas they were cool at the time and I wanted to be seen wearing one. You have to wonder if people who do the Jesus shirts and stuff just want to be seen in them so they get some sense of righteousness from their shirt when it should be from their lives changed by the gospel…

  2. #3 by freethinkep on July 9, 2010 - 3:39 pm

    I wonder what good old Jesus would think about people making a profit with his “word”.

    • #4 by Christian Beyer on July 9, 2010 - 3:48 pm

      According to the literature, it’s doubtful that he would be too happy about it. Of course, this had been going on long before he came onto the scene -hence the Herodians and the house of Annas. Now, I don’t want to impugn the motives of this teacher and her faith-flops, I’m sure she is well intentioned. Probably even tithes on the profit she makes.

  3. #5 by snowgood on July 9, 2010 - 4:04 pm

    People always seem to forget PROFIT is the only thing that keeps businesses running in the long term. I’m sure Jesus was happy for folk to be wealthy, but being wealthy doesn’t mean you don’t care about the poor does it?

    Or was Abraham just a rogue trader? Of course not, and God blessed him, and you and me.

    Stephen

    PS Prefer Crocs to flip flops…

    • #6 by Christian Beyer on July 9, 2010 - 5:09 pm

      Absolutely. Profit is a GOOD thing. Personally, I wish I had a lot more of it and don’t begrudge Bill Gates his. There world would be a much drearier place without the ability to reap rewards on our endeavors. But….I think the objection was to make a profit on the words of Jesus (or God, I guess). And I do have a big problem with that, especially when so many ‘shepherds’ live so lavishly by fleecing their flock (turn on TBN if you doubt this happens). Again, not that this lady is in that camp. She is asking for money in exchange for a real, tangible product. No worse than asking people to spend a few extra bucks for a tee-shirt with a team logo on it (but no better). And I really doubt that God told her to make ’em.

      I just hope the flip-flops are well made and not made in some overseas sweatshop. I think Jesus might have a problem with that.

      I prefer Birkenstocks. A friend gave me a pair about 6 years ago and I still wear ’em. Can’t afford a new pair, so I’m gonna try and have ’em resoled. A lot of cooks wear Crocs in the kitchen but I can’t get comfortable in ’em.

Leave a Reply

