Through a mirror, blackly

"He dreams that the massa and he exchange positions"

I want to thank Rachel over at The Episcopalian for leading me to an excellent and provocative commentary by Tim Wise called “Imagine if the Tea Party was Black”.

Every day I am astounded how many people of privilege insist that racism and bigotry in America are things of the past. And every day I am saddened when I recognize latent racist tendencies on my part. When reading Wise’s article I couldn’t help but be reminded of the movie “Crash”. Everyone I’ve spoken with who has seen that film was at some level surprised and dismayed at the prejudices they had internalized.

I think that people who insist that they are with out prejudices are at least as troublesome as those who flaunt theirs.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

