My Ghost Hunter : An Absolutely True Ghost Story – I Swear It!

In keeping with the spirit of the season I will once again post my  “Ghost Story”.

Ghost Hunters

My wife and daughter share a casual interest in accounts of the supernatural. They love to watch those ghost shows on the cable channels, the ones where the paranormal investigators check out allegedly haunted houses. Although they are not in the least way obsessed with the idea of supernatural contact, they both find it entertaining and have adopted a “who knows?” attitude. As for myself, I am a born skeptic and have little time for these ‘reality’ TV programs.

Last Sunday Bev and I took out  our 19 year old daughter, Dot,  and her best friend Bekah , for  afternoon drive in countryside. It was  autumn’s peak – a classic fall day with brisk wind pushing gunmetal clouds across a blue sky. The sunlight had that watery feel to it, softening the bright colors of the leaves. Later in the afternoon we ended up in an old town that is famous for being at the center of a Civil War battle. Dot mentioned that the town was considered a favorite haunt for many ghosts, apparently due to the thousands of violent deaths suffered in the battle.

Since the weather was so nice and the trees so beautiful we were surprised that so few restaurants in town were open, but we found a busy place on the square. Most of the buildings in town looked quite old yet well maintained, and this one was no exception. There was a 20 minute wait for a table so I took my pager outside and sat on a bench. My wife ran into an antique store to check out their advertised “dental artifacts” while the girls ran up to the lady’s room, on the second floor.

Ten minutes later they burst out through the front door, laughing and giggling. When I asked them what was so funny  Dot held out her phone to me. “Listen” she said.

The traffic noise was loud on the square but I could just make out Dot’s voice saying; “Is there anyone with us today? If you’re here we would like to talk to you.” There was a long pause full of static, then Dot saying; “You can talk to me (garbled)?” Pause. “ You don’t have to be afraid of us. You can talk to me. My name is Dot. Pause. Allright, bye- bye.” The recording ended with the sounds of both girls giggling. .

I knew  what they had been up to.  Recently we watched the movie “White Noise” on DVD. In it, Michael Keaton is contacted by souls who have gone over to the ‘other side’. They reached him by laying their voices down on magnetic recording tape. Upon playback these spectral voices could be heard for the first time. Called EVP – Electronic Voice Phenomena- it is taken very seriously by some people, the foremost experts being Lisa and Tom Butler of AAEVP, consultants on the film. [ http://www.aaevp.com/ ] I thought it was a fair movie, but like most ‘scary’ movies you need to suspend your disbelief for a couple of hours. My disbelief in the paranormal returned before the credits were running.

I smiled and handed the phone back.  I was never surprise at  what Dot might come up with.  Just as Bev was walking up  the restaurant pager went off. We went in and had an enjoyable meal and within  a few  hours we were back home. That night, in the quiet of our living room, Dot listened to the recording again. Excited, she had us listen to it as well.

In the middle of the second pause of scratchy white noise what sounded like woman’s low voice could be heard whispering something  like “Kitty, kitty’s dead”, followed by a very soft chuckle (or sobbing?).  I immediately suspected a prank but Dot quickly convinced me of their innocence. I know my daughter, and that’s not her style. She insisted that they were completely alone in the ladies room (she would never have attempted this stunt in public) You can hear the recording by going to the following link:

I searched  for more information on Google and found this:

In 2001 this restaurant burned down to the ground and it had since been rebuilt to the original specifications. During the reconstruction the body of a recently murdered woman had been discovered at the building site, where she reportedly had been left to die. (I have yet to find any other information). The restaurant staff says that the ghost of this woman haunts the building, open and closing doors and windows , with most of the activity taking place in the kitchen and in the ladies room!

OK. I can’t explain it.  Is this  some elaborate hoax being perpetrated by the operators of this restaurant?  It’s not as if they promoted any haunting – it was not easy finding the story of the dead woman’s body. Could it be the tortured soul of someone named Kitty is  somehow trapped in this house? Or, as my daughter suspects, was the spirit mocking Dot, comparing her to someone who casually calls for a pet, not knowing what they are really dealing with? Is Kitty someone we should be praying for?

At one time I would never have taken this kind of stuff seriously. But for over the past 5 years I have been very interested in spirituality.  Who knows?Kitty.pptx

What do you think? Does anyone have a ghost story to share?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by ambrosia on October 29, 2009 - 6:30 pm

    Well, Chris, you’ve done it again.

    Seriously, I can intellectually ascent to believing ghosts exist–like UFOs. However, if I ever had a close encounter of the ecktoplasmic kind, it would be a different story.

    The other day, my youngest daughter and I had gone on a hike on the Appalachian Trail. We were a few miles from the parking area on Maryland Route 491–I thought I saw a woman getting mail from a rural mail box–but when I drove by a few seconds later, she was gone. Although I did not stop, I glanced back to look for a car or to see if she had walked back up the driveway–but no, she was not there. I said to myself (and maybe to my daughter) that I had seen a ghost.

    Okay–I see my brother and mother in law in dreams (and occassionally one of my grandmothers). I think that their spirits enter my mind–or somehow are there–and I always realize that they are not alive, but gone. My older brother says Danny is working off his bad Karma.

    On the other hand, I know I would come undone if I saw a ghost in my freaky old house–or in Gibbons Hall (or any of the eerie old buildings) on the campus of College of Notre Dame of Maryland–you talk about buildings that look haunted.

    I’m not too keen on Ghost Hunter shows. Emotion and the power of suggestion can play many tricks on the minds of people. Also, the fact that they use electronic meters to measure possible paranormal activity is questionable. Energy levels rise and fall all around us, and with TV and radio signals, satellite communications, cell phones, just plain radio waves and sun spot activity, I’m sure any ohm meter would go crazy in the space of any room (or no room).

    Also, even recordings like yours are not proof, per se. Proof is undeniable–and although I can clearly hear the voice–I have to ask some questions. Were your daughter and her friend playing tricks? Is it possible they picked up a tranmission or phone–or did the owners of the restaurant wire the place for eerie sounds (you know how those food service people are). So, while I can agree intellectually, many would have doubts about the verifiable nature of the recording.

    On the other hand, if all is above board, then you have a very strange sound, indeed.

    All of this scares me to the core, yet with strange curiosity, maybe we are missing out on talking to “the other side” in a way that is not “paranormal” or in no sense evil. Maybe all of this communication revolution is intended to show that life continues beyond the grave.

    • #2 by Christian Beyer on October 29, 2009 - 10:54 pm

      Yes. If it were not my daughter, Dorothy, I would be skeptical indeed. I love my son just as much but if he had presented me with this ‘evidence’ I would not be convinced. But this not something Dorothy would do, for a variety of reasons that go beyond her honesty or her character. The same can be said for her friend. Plus, this is now two years old. Too long to keep a family hoax alive.

      As for the proprietors – well, you’d think they would be trying to gain some financial gain out of this. But do a Google search on the place and you get… nothing. There has been no promotion of any type of haunting here.

      I think this is very real. And it is very disturbing.

  2. #3 by ambrosia on October 30, 2009 - 4:05 pm

    I see what you’re saying–but all of the phenomena freaks me out.

    I don’t doubt, especially in a place like Gettysburg, that these things happen. Are they enounters with ghosts, or residual energy of a long-gone soul (as Kant might say).

    • #4 by Christian Beyer on October 30, 2009 - 5:42 pm

      Yeah, what the Ghost Hunters call ‘residual hauntings’ – left over psychic energy like a fingerprint.

  3. #5 by ambrosia on October 30, 2009 - 6:22 pm

    We are trained to be scared of these things–yet, we do have much “shadow” dwelling experience.

    When I was a lad of 4, we lived in a relatively new house in California. My dad swears that the house was hainted. He had a
    no-door-knob lock on his “den” in the basement of the house (although we would go in–another story).

    Anyway, he says something would make his swivel chair go up and down when he wasn’t in the room (well, we kids would play with the chair, also another story).

    He thinks it was some kind of spirit.

    I used to have frightening experiences in the house, and think I was being chased by someone while climbing the stairs from my basement sleeping quarters (which is getting creepier sounding, as if they locked me in the basement).

    Double anyway, in our house in Huntington Beach, much later, like when I was in high school, etc., we had the feeling of a presence in the house, as did the house where our older children were raised.

    We always put this off to demons, being good Christian folks.

    On the other hand, I wouldn’t rule out human spirits. If we believe in angels and demons–non human beings in the spirit realm, then why is so far fetched to believe that human spirits are hanging around.

    This is scaring me, I have to go now.

  4. #7 by Debs on October 30, 2009 - 9:57 pm

    You’re freaking me out Christian!!!! 😉 The Bible says to be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord. It also says that we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses…. I think except for the Holy Spirit, anything that is conjured up, etc. is not a good thing. Regardless, stuff like this doesn’t bother me, I’ve had some experience with the supernatural, (which should be a believers natural anyway) and have no problem kicking some demon butt.

    • #8 by Christian Beyer on October 31, 2009 - 9:27 am

      Debs, I’m with you, it doesn’t scare me. I had kids in the youth group over the past weekend and let them hear this. It really freaked them out. Before hand we had a bible study in which we talked about having faith in God’s love- trust. So I asked them, if they had already professed this to be the case in their lives – what it there to be afraid of. Like Roosevelt said: nothing to fear but fear itself.

  5. #9 by ambrosia on October 31, 2009 - 12:04 am

    I used to think like Debs, but I have changed my views.

    The problem about the last part of your comment is affirming what has happened. What was the state of mind of the participants? Who were the witnesses? Did the witnesses verify the events, or simply trust that those “casting out” were telling the truth?

    I used to listen to Bob Larsen, who claims he has cast out many demons.
    I occassionally listened (although I did call in and talk to Bob on one time) but I stopped completely when he claimed he would cast out a demon while on the air.

    Also, why do we preclude that human spirits can hang around these southern climates, so to speak, and say that in such a state they are not “with the Lord”? Can’t God allow spirits to travel? Scripture claims that Angels are all around, so why not human spirits?

Leave a Reply

