Our Marine Leaves for Okinawa

Dressing the Marine
Dressing the Marine

A Babe on Each Arm

Goals Met

Happy Boy

Marine kissing his Grandfather

Farewell

,

  1. #1 by ric booth on October 8, 2009 - 6:44 pm

    Very cool. Love the father – son shot!

    I suppose I’ll be blogging a similar journey… my son leaves for Navy basic training Nov 3rd.

    • #2 by Christian Beyer on October 8, 2009 - 6:57 pm

      Wow! Ric, that’s great! (Yet bittersweet) I don’t know what your boy’s situation is, but the Corps has been the best thing that ever happened to Ian. That is until he became engaged to Zian, the girl in the pics. Just the day before.

      I know you must be proud of your son. And he and Ian are going to be brothers – the Marines are a department of the Navy, you know. The men’s department, that is! 😉 Make sure you tell him that one.

      That one picture has gotten so much notice. My sister-in- law swiped it and put it up on Facebook and people that don’t even me or Ian have been very moved, suggesting that it be sent in to Parade or something. I don’t know about that. The shot had a lot of lensflaring so I screwed around with it in a photo editing program and what you see is the result.

  2. #3 by Debs on October 9, 2009 - 8:16 pm

    Hi there!!! I have some similar pictures, different uniform 😉 I hope he doesn’t need to go to a war zone… it’s tough on the ones in the states too, but with Mike being in Iraq for a year, I did do an awful loft of kneemail. I will be praying for him and your family. Sorry I didn’t get to meet you while I was back there… maybe next time? After all, you owe me a dinner… 🙂

    • #4 by Christian Beyer on October 9, 2009 - 8:39 pm

      Thanks Debs. He (and we) will take all the prayers we can get. He’s not a very religious young man but his experience in the Marines has generated more prayer requests (in a little over a year) that I’ve heard him ask for in his whole life.

      I owe you dinner? How’s that? Not a problem, it’s what I do (unless you expect me to ‘buy’ you dinner [shudder!] ). And I would be honored. But refresh my memory a little. Did I lose a bet?

      • #5 by Debs on October 9, 2009 - 9:06 pm

        LOL… no you didn’t lose a bet… Jeff had talked to me a few times about your Chef abilities which I was REALLY looking forward to. Nothing bought (I share the shudder), homemade of course! Just thought I’d try to sneak that in there for my next visit.. 😉

        I got alot of prayer requests as well, I get to have Mikey here for about 11 months, then he’s off to Afghanistan. One thing he continues to tell me that God is just as big there as here and they had alot of good heart to hearts….

  3. #6 by Dan on October 9, 2009 - 10:43 pm

    Best of luck to your Marine. I know I’m a sailor, but hey, same team in the end. Best wishes!

    • #7 by Christian Beyer on October 10, 2009 - 6:57 pm

      Thanks Dan, and same to you. And a heartfelt thank you for serving us.

  4. #8 by Christian Beyer on October 10, 2009 - 6:58 pm

    Deb,if come out East again you can count on dinner. Bring your Alka-Seltzer. I just remembered the reason why I couldn’t hook up with you guys the last time. My son was home on a 36 hour leave and we wanted to squeeze every drop out of each and every minute. This last time he was home for 21 days and though I miss him, it was time for him to go by the 20th day 😉 He’s a 23 year old man with 23 year old Marine habits – but that’s just Dad talkin’. His mother might see it differently.

  5. #9 by Ian on November 22, 2009 - 11:29 pm

    what pic? and which sister in law? happy thanksgiving

  6. #10 by Christian Beyer on November 28, 2009 - 8:11 pm

    The one of you kissing Grandad. The sister-in-law is Aunt Jenny.

  7. #11 by The Cybernetic Entomologist on May 9, 2010 - 10:08 am

    From one Ian Beyer to another, Semper Fi! (I was Air Force, but, as Dan mentioned above, same team!)

    It was 17 years ago this month that I shipped out to USAF basic training. Thanks for your service!

  8. #12 by Christian Beyer on May 10, 2010 - 2:20 pm

    Wow! What a coincidence. I wonder if we are related? I will share your thoughts with my son, Ian. And thank YOU for your service in the Air Force.

    Meanwhile, I checked out your site. From an amateur’s perspective, it’s pretty fascinating.

    • #13 by The Cybernetic Entomologist on May 10, 2010 - 2:59 pm

      I find it rather fascinating myself, which is why I blog it 🙂

      My branch of the Beyer family goes back to the Lowville, NY area.

Leave a Reply

