Funny Fundamentalists…

no laughs

… are pretty hard to find. Except for the ones who are funny by accident.   Someone told me these fundies were pretty funny so I went to their site. Yikes!

They think that the Emerging Church is a real hoot.  Here’s a sample:

And that was one of the funny ones.  (I thought I was an elderly church member.)

Anyway, I guess I’ll keep on looking.

,

  1. #1 by Cyndi Warren on May 11, 2009 - 7:24 pm

    Glad you can find humor in fundamentalism … you’re a better Christian than I am!! You have a fantastic, thoughtful blog. Glad to have found it!
    ~Cyndi

    • #2 by Christian Beyer on May 11, 2009 - 11:59 pm

      Welcome, Cyndi. You are too kind. But they can be funny. So can the Emergent folk. But like I said, usually accidentally. (Although I do think the Emergent people are a tad less uptight about things, which does lend itself a better sense of humor)

  2. #3 by Steve on May 11, 2009 - 11:36 pm

    Why are they still cutting on the emerging/emergent/whatever ‘church’? Isn’t it dead already? That movement came and went like Ex-lax.

    • #4 by Christian Beyer on May 12, 2009 - 12:02 am

      Well, don’t tell Emergent that. I actually think it’s still moving, but it’s moved out from under those labels. It’s become clandestine; more subversive. Once all the old fundie leaders kick the bucket they’ll be primed to take over all those coveted deacon and user positions.

  3. #5 by nate on May 12, 2009 - 9:29 am

    I’ve journeyed far from my fundamentalist (dispensational, namely) roots and have a deep seated respect for many in the movement who love God and strive to live upright lives.

    That being said, I rarely find their humor palatable. I’m not a big fan of stand up comedy in general, or those motivational posters.

    Different strokes for different folks, I suppose.

    • #6 by Christian Beyer on May 12, 2009 - 10:09 am

      If they were funny, then they would be more ‘palatable’. Thing is, if some prominent members (leaders?) of the emerging church had a site selling posters making fun of fundamentalists (and I don’t know, perhaps there is one) then they certainly would invite ridicule. There is a certain mean-spiritedness running through this attempt at humor. When a comic becomes too acerbic or begins to take himself too seriously, then he rarely remains comical.

      Off the subject, Nate, I will risk ridicule myself here; what’s your take on some of these low carb brews? I once said that I would rather be caught dead than ever consume a light beer but unfortunately that option has now become a very real possibility. Can’t they do something, like heap on the hops, to create some sort of flavor profile? I love wine, but I do miss my beer.

  4. #7 by nate on May 12, 2009 - 11:30 am

    I agree…as i went through those posters, mean-spirited came to mind. While I wouldn’t classify myself as “emergent,” I realized that this was the same ad hominem attack many fundamentalists accuse emergent of.

    As far as beer goes, you may have opened Pandora’s box on bringing it up in a conversation with me!

    I am not a beer snob by any means; that is, if someone is a fan of Michelob Ultra, I won’t belittle them, although it isn’t my beer of choice.

    Since beer is basically liquid bread (yeast and grains), the more carbs taken out, the less flavor you’ll find. This is great for someone who hates rich flavors. The problem with hopping up a light beer, is it is imbalanced. The more hop in a beer, the more of a malt backbone there needs to be to compensate for the flavor. That is why extremely ‘hoppy’ beers are more alcoholic. i had a 21% abv hopped up beer not too long ago, because it required that strong malt presence.

    In natural beers (non-conglomerate, i.e. InBev) there is actually a lot of vitamins, vitamins, and nutritional content. A good craft beer or two can be healthy, so long as one doesn’t drink more than one or two in a sitting. The best low carb beer I had was the Michelob Amber Ultra, but I wouldn’t rush out an buy it.

    • #8 by Christian Beyer on May 12, 2009 - 12:45 pm

      Yeah, and that’s the problem for me. I particularly like the flavor of roasted malt and of course that means more maltose which in the case of beer is really just liquid sugar (at least as far as our pancreases are concerned). There really is no good answer for me, other than to drink good beer but very occasionally. Of course, when cutting the lawn on a hot day, the lighter brews can be palatable.

      Ultra is not ‘bad’. I’ve been “enjoying” the MGD 64 – 64 calories, 2.4 g of carbs but only 2.8% alcohol. I’ve since heard that Bud limited is better – only 3.1 carbs and closer to 5% alcohol. These beers don’t have much less flavor or body than a Corona (IMHO) so I just stick a lime in it and screw my eyes shut.

      My current beer of choice (which I haven’t enjoyed in over a month) is Konig Pilsner. I’ve become a little jaded with the recent plethora of domestic boutique beers that are all sold for 9-10 dollars a six pack. Of course, 30 years ago our choices weren’t much more than Schlitz, Pabst, Bud, Strohs or Heineken so I should quit griping.

      Hey, did we just stray off topic?

  5. #9 by logiopath on May 12, 2009 - 10:13 pm

    I’m offended–beer on a Christian blog?

    What kind of crud are you foisting on the unsuspecting Church?

    You anti-fundementalist!

    BTW–Where the HE– have you been hiding? Oh wait, I know, behind the sneeze guard at T.I.Y.

    • #10 by Christian Beyer on May 13, 2009 - 6:34 am

      You know where I’ve been. How come you don’t visit anymore? Anyway, beer is very Christian. It’s rum that is demonic.

      • #11 by logiopath on May 13, 2009 - 2:39 pm

        I visit–but you seem to have been hiding lately.

      • #12 by Alex on June 8, 2009 - 10:24 pm

        ha! Actually, I think that the first recorded version of rum was named something along the lines of ‘devil water’.

  6. #13 by Steve B on May 13, 2009 - 6:01 am

    I think they’re poking fun at the “if it feels spiritual, do it” sort of mentality that a lot of “post-evangelical” (?!) types support. I’m not even sure what post-evangelical means.

    Some of them either don’t make sense, or come off as pretty heavy-handed. I guess I’d need to know more about the “Emergent” movement before I could really understand ’em.

  7. #14 by Christian Beyer on May 13, 2009 - 6:41 am

    There really is not much to know about the Emergent phenomenon (or non-phenomenon as some would say). It’s not that it is post modern itself except to say that it acknowledges that we are well into a time that questions the relevance of the modern mind set. Like it or not, this is a post-modern world and no amount of bitching about it well change the clock back. Although I am not one to ‘join’ movements you can pretty much say that what you see on this blog mostly represents an emerging church perspective, which is what my critics will often point out. That being said, once we become organized and more distinct in our philosophies, more definite and more religious, the more we revert back to the ways of the modern Christian. Christian Catch-22.

  8. #15 by Christian Beyer on May 13, 2009 - 2:47 pm

    Bruce, you fib. Although I did take a four day weekend at the end of April. Our 27th wedding anniversary on Cape Hatteras. Tres cool.

    • #16 by logiopath on May 13, 2009 - 7:45 pm

      What is the definition of “emergent?” Maybe you’re just enamored with Brian McClaren?

  9. #17 by Christian Beyer on May 13, 2009 - 9:41 pm

    Maybe your’e just enamored with Chuck Smith. What is the definition of Christian?

Leave a Reply

