Joy to the World? Seriously?

According to UNICEF, 26,500-30,000 children die each day due to poverty. And they “die quietly in some of the poorest villages on earth, far removed from the scrutiny and the conscience of the world. Being meek and weak in life makes these dying multitudes even more invisible in death.”

Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the earth.

Matthew 5:8

  1. #1 by rltj on December 29, 2008 - 1:30 am

    I presume the picture of the dying malnourished child was from UNICEF. I presume the intention is to draw attention and implore for donation to UNICEF for victims of poverty. Well, that’s the good intention and that is also much in spirit of Christianity.

    The sad news is that the big part of the Fund goes, firstly, to maintain the organizational bureaucracies [allowances & salaries, rentals, transportations, hotels & accommodations, conferences etc.,] and yes, corruptions! What’s left goes to the intended beneficiaries, showcases-showoffs that some people can prate about, a drop in the bucket actually relative to the magnitude of the problem worldwide. The problem is barely scratched at the surface.

    I have ceased to spare some loose change to beggars in the streets. It won’t solve the problem of vagrancy. I think I would be contributing to perpetuation of it that way. I believe all the beggars should be at the gates of our Malacañang Palace, not demanding alms but for a solution to their problem. [And it saddens me to see government beating them up when sometimes those miserable did!] The talks about ending poverty have been crazy. They don’t know what they are talking about.]

  2. #2 by Christian Beyer on December 29, 2008 - 1:41 pm

    Actually I had no intention of encouraging support of UNICEF or any other particular organization. I just chose that picture at random.

    I only wanted to draw attention to the fact that the work started by the one who’s birth we celebrate at this time of the year is far from over. And that generally speaking, as Christians, we are not doing such a great job of following Jesus’ teachings.

    I was reminded of this on Christmas morning, While suffering from a mild egg-nog hangover, I surveyed the contents of the garbage bag I was taking outside. I realized that, even with all that we had consumed the night before, we were discarding as waste that which might easily and happily feed a family in need. And though that didn’t help my hangover any nor did it make my Christmas any more joyous, I was glad that this though had occurred to me.

  3. #3 by rltj on December 30, 2008 - 9:36 pm

    Fact is, there will always be needy people somewhere in the world. There’s nothing bad about contributing for the needy. Right way and wrong way will always be debatable.

    [I dont like pictures of people donating while they all show those “cheese” for the camera.] Not you, not me, somebody out there maybe. 🙂

  4. #4 by Christian Beyer on December 31, 2008 - 9:40 am

    True. I often hear Christians say that “Jesus said that the poor will always be with us” yet the poor are rarely ‘with us’, they are usually someplace where we would never think of visiting.

    Then again maybe ‘with us’ means that we need to be aware of the plight of the poor and make sure that we do not conveniently forget their plight and how we are a part of it.

Leave a Reply

