Once a Marine….

img_08491

December 5, 2008, 1st BTN, Delta Co., PLT 1094, MCRD, Parris Island - Enough Said

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Christian Beyer on December 9, 2008 - 5:52 pm

    Didn’t you say that three months ago?

    There is actually an excellent PBS documentary on the Corps. PBS is not know to be overly enthusiastic of things military so their sterling praise is all the more meaningful.

    And “Making the Corps” is an excellent read, even if you aren’t particularly fascinated with the Marines. It doesn’t pull any punches, either.

  2. #2 by Marty on December 9, 2008 - 8:36 pm

    “Once a Marine” is an awesome book. I cannot recommend it enough. I just finished it (it was a birthday gift). A neighbor we know has a son who served in 3/4, and was in all the same fighting discussed in the book. His mom recommended it, so my wife bought it. Just when I was grumbling about a sprained swollen ankle that kept me out of work for two days, my wife hands me this book. I don’t think I will ever complain again after reading what Gunny Popaditch went through, and how he handled it. Man that Marine is right: character is everything, and you never know what you have inside you until you get seriously tested. This book really changed the way I think about a lot of things. 5 stars.
    Marty S

  3. #3 by Charles (Ted's dad) on December 11, 2008 - 7:38 pm

    I left a message on the My Son has Joined the Marines tag, and thinking you may miss it, I just wanted to say:

    I just found your photos on the internet, and wanted to extend my congratulations to Ian! I wish him all the very best, as always, and will certainly have him in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. #4 by Shawn on December 15, 2008 - 1:45 am

    Congrats on your sons jump into manhood. I had it easy in the Air Force but the 6 years really changed my out look on life and I found everyone in uniform is just another human with a story. Rich or poor, educated or not we were equal.
    I traveled to Turkey and saw where the beginnings of religion began. What a treat. God bless your son. You must be proud.

  5. #5 by Christian Beyer on December 18, 2008 - 7:26 pm

    Shawn. Welcome. Sorry for not responding, been very busy. And yes, I am very proud.

    I appreciate your compliments. I am sure it was not very easy in the Air Force (but maybe not quite so hard as the Corps ;). Anyway, I want to thank you for serving. I really wish I had. If they would take an old fart like me I’d be there in a heartbeat.

    Again, thanks for joining us and thanks for your service. Please come back often.

Leave a Reply

