Useless Idiots

Lenin coined the phrase “useful idiots” to describe those Westerners whose misplaced idealism led them to be Soviet sympathizers. Although they provided a free (yet priceless) service for the Soviets , the Communists held them in contempt. Their idiocy did nothing other than assist the greatest tyranny the world has ever know.

But at least their idiocy was well intentioned. And they were useful for something, even if it was to assist the Communists with the imprisonment, torture and murder of millions. But today’s useful idiots seem to have only one purpose; the advancement of idiocy.

Why in the world would the qualifications of a vice presidential candidate be under question because she has family issues? How is Sarah Palin’s daughter’s pregnancy, a mistake that no one is trying to hide, cause for political scandal? Palin’s not pregnant – her daughter is.

And her husband was convicted of a DUI 20 years ago? Really? There but for the grace of God… Perhaps she should have divorced him.

C’mon people, let’s put those stones down. You look like idiots.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Christian Beyer on September 3, 2008 - 10:14 am

    Sheesh, Robert! Who are you preaching to? I just said that I didn’t think there was a place for Creationism in the science classroom. I was only suggesting that there shouldn’t be any problem (especially if one has confidence in the theory) to stating within the curriculum that there are still some problems with the theory and scientists are still looking for corroborating evidence. In no way do I think we should suggest a supernatural alternative.

    Just as (I think) that people of faith shouldn’t be threatened by science (which by its nature is never sufficiently adequate to address the first cause) neither should scientists be afraid of acknowledging what they do not know.

  2. #2 by Robert on September 3, 2008 - 10:24 am

    Christian

    In my defense I was not responding to you so much as those who STILL feel that ID and creationism are on equal footing….which it would seem you and I agree, that they are NOT….can’t possibly be.

    All good scientists are not afraid of the phrase ‘I Don’t Know’.

    A Greek philosopher of some note said “The beginning of wisdom is the admission of one’s ignorance.

    For me it is that which I do not know which spurs me to continue learning. Speculation and intuition are genesis of new wisdom. I got lots of ideas and theories…trouble is most of ’em suck!

    But, I’ll continue postulating and speculating…it sure beats the alternative!

    R.

  3. #3 by Christian Beyer on September 3, 2008 - 11:03 am

    Shoulda had a smiley on my comment. 🙂 Someone once said; “Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known. “

  4. #4 by Christian Beyer on September 3, 2008 - 12:02 pm

    Hey, Rob. You sure know how to change the subject. I still don’t see how a candidate’s family has much to do with their viability. There are people (Democrats) out there now questioning whether it is wise for a woman with 5 children to seek higher office. Of course no one asks that question of a man (how many did Joseph Kennedy have?) Imagine if a Republican had suggested such a double standard.

    And since there is such a ‘non- issue’ surrounding all this there has been an attempt to make it into a faux issue over McCain’s wisdom – since she might not have been such a wise political choice for him to make. Idiotic.

    Meanwhile, on the other side of the Left’s mouth we have the sharpies over at Emily’s List who have just released the results of a poll they conducted over the weekend; Get this…the vast majority polled believe that McCain chose Palin for POLITICAL reasons! As the kids like to say….Duh!

  5. #5 by Robert on September 3, 2008 - 12:37 pm

    on the subject….

    No I don’t think Ms. Palin’s family is germane to the subject whatever. Being the father to a teenage girl i am well aware of how willful and stubborn they can be. So I would NEVER presume to judge Sarah Palin for the actions of her daughter it’s not my business nor is it the business of America.

    I can see very clearly why she was McCain’s choice…

    This whole thread started with me articulating my reasons for rejecting Sarah Palin for the job of VP based upon her OWN views….

    Her family life was NEVER a consideration for me….

    …nor should it be for anyone else.

    R.

  6. #6 by nate on September 4, 2008 - 10:35 am

    As a guy who made the baby before the vows, I would vote for myself were I running for president. Based off my choices this time around, I my just pencil in my name this time around.

    All that to say, her daughter’s mistake, similar to mine in my younger years, wont affect her policies or my vote, but her policies may affect my vote.

  7. #7 by Christian Beyer on September 6, 2008 - 3:19 am

    Hey Nate. Welcome. Maybe I’ll pencil you in as will.

    It’s funny about the policies et al. I used to think that was the main thing, over character. Now I’m not so sure. If this were a democracy and not a republic I would unhesitatingly agree. But thankfully president’s of the USA don’t wield as much power as we give them credit for. And that certainly goes for the VP as well.

  8. #8 by nostawetan on September 6, 2008 - 10:20 am

    Agreed…
    Character is a qualifying point for a candidate, to some extent, personality is not (personally). I suppose my point was that a mistake, particularly one by implication, does not define one’s character extensively.

    “But thankfully president’s of the USA don’t wield as much power as we give them credit for.”

    Absolutely. It does seem that they are, little by little, gaining more…in my humble opinion.

Leave a Reply

