Slain in the Spirit?

“Slain in the Spirit” – never heard that before. But apparently it refers to a charismatic event that takes place in some highly spirited churches. Preachers like Ernest Angely and Benny Hinn have made it their trademark.

Check out how the addition of Heavy Metal makes Benny and company look almost cool. Perhaps what we have hear us the makings of a new pop super hero – “The Pusher”. Jeesh, no wonder some people think Christians are nuts.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Benny Hinn: Let the Bodies Hit the Floor“, posted with vodpod
  1. #1 by logiopath on June 20, 2008 - 3:26 pm

    Aah.

  2. #2 by logiopath on June 20, 2008 - 3:27 pm

    f2f–You don’t remember seeing me last Friday at the Booby Hatch?

  3. #3 by logiopath on June 20, 2008 - 3:29 pm

    I’m sorry I said B. H. I mean the skool for at-risk children. Strike that last post. 🙂

  4. #4 by alease davis on June 22, 2008 - 5:34 am

    I was “prayed for” backstage at one of Benny’s crusades.He was not the nice man that I ignorantly thought he was.None of the “How are you,Sweetheart?”stuff,like on TV.He came off as rude,arrogant,cold…barking orders,and shouting that he would NOT pray for any adults present.(It was supposed to be a time for kids present to be prayed for)I was shocked and disappointed by how cold he was in real life.This was many years ago,before he started cursing Christians and all that.He did touch my forehead.None of us were healed.Sad.What a charlatan!How could I have been so stupid?

  5. #5 by Christian on June 22, 2008 - 10:19 am

    Thanks Alease. Gives us a bit more insight. I think it also illustrates how some have tuned prayer into something akin to reading palms, tea leaves and tarot cards. It’s about the ‘gifted’ medium that we supposedly need to encounter the supernatural It has little to do with any message, does it?

  6. #6 by alease davis on July 3, 2008 - 2:56 am

    If you really want to hear about Benny Hinn,from a former member of his church,I highly recommend”The true face of the faith/fake healers” by Yves Brault.This man was an absolute believer in Benny Hinn,even moving to Florida from Montreal to be a part of his church.The story is both heartbreaking and shocking,and very revealing! One of the most shocking things in the book,is that some of the single ladies in Hinn’s church reported having “sexual encounters with the Holy Spirit.I know this sounds blasphemous,but this really was reported.When Benny Hinn “prayed” for me,I could sense something strangely sexual about it.I never told anyone,because I knew it was “supposed” to be the Holy Spirit operating through him.I was afraid my husband would either think I was NUTS,or that I had a crush on Benny Hinn.When I red Brault’s book,15 years later,I was shocked to hear that others were describing something “sexual” about it ,too.When I told my daughter,now 25,she told me that she had sensed something “dirty” or sexual aroud him too.She was only 10,at the time. Benny Hinn is a shameless heretic,false prophet,fake faith healer,liar…run from this man,run,dont walk!Get rid of his tapes,books,dvds,dont watch his show,his lies are very seductive to Christians.Even though I know what he is,there is a part of me that wants to believe him,if I see him on TV.He’s a smooth talker,like most conmen and decievers…

  7. #7 by Christian Beyer on July 3, 2008 - 7:02 am

    Thanks Alease. Let me ask for some clarification here; did you experience these feelings or are you only reporting what others have said? Because this is pretty shocking to me. Although I guess it should not be surprising. Charisma, hysteria, emotional simulation plus the fact that his ‘ministry’ is very physical.

    Anyway, I don’t think anyone could make a stronger case for taking this man (and others like him) and seriously questioning not only their credibility but their motives as well.

  8. #8 by amber on August 24, 2008 - 11:39 pm

    You guys are nuts…..there is nothing wrong with christian thinking. these people are experiencing God on a whole new level that non-christians can comprhend until they experience it!!! Im praying that you all find the way and the truth in your lifetime.
    John 14:6, Jesus answered, “I am the way the truth and the light. No one comes to the father except through me.”

  9. #9 by Glenn Dickson on January 16, 2011 - 12:33 am

    It really hurts me to see how Television preachers beg for money to stay on the air. Their famas line is : “If you don’t send your best offering today, we’ll be forced to go off the air”. Another famas quote is: “God will bless you abundantly if you send your best gift offering”. To think that these rascals live in Two or Three million dallor homes and drive the best luxury cars in the world makes me wonder if I’m serving the wrong Jesus! I do believe in prosperity for the Christian believer, but not at the expense of those brethern who are just barely making ends meet each month. Our Lord Jesus never travelled around in a gold plated chariot or lived in a manson. He was a humble servant who did His Father’s will . He left heaven’s glory to serve as a man and minister to many broken hearts (Luke 4:18-19)and He must certainly did not take from the poor to fill His own pockets. Godbless.

Leave a Reply

