Know, You Don’t

I just know that it’s going to rain. And it does. Or, just as likely, it doesn’t.

I know just what kind of person she is. Actually, I really don’t.

I never win anything, so why would I win this time. But then I do.

I know exactly what you are thinking. Of course, I am wrong.

So then, why are so many of us so certain that we know what God wants? Why do so many of us claim to know what God has in store for us? Why are we so sure, so definite, about what he is saying to us? And why do we assume he is saying the exact same thing to everyone else?

Why is it that, if the Bible is the undisputed Word Of God, so many who believe this cannot agree on what it says?

Don’t ask me. I…just…don’t….know. And I am cool with that.

Are you?

, ,

  1. #1 by Christian on June 2, 2008 - 3:50 pm

    Ekhart Tolle, huh? There is a persistent trend within the ‘conservative’ church (watchdogs? – I like that analogy) to portray the new ’emerging’ church as being part of New Age spirituality. Almost always those who are saying this are basing their assumptions upon anecdotal or incomplete evidence. Too bad for them.

    This unlearning that Alan speaks of; I think this is also what Logio has been talking about. I used to wonder, right after having ‘converted’ into a very conservative church while in my early forties, how much better my life could’ve been if this had happened to me earlier. I still think that is a valid question but another part of me thinks that not having had so much religious baggage to haul around has permitted me to follow God a little closer. Of course, others would say that I am falling down the slippery slope to the other side. Something that I would have said myself a few years back.

    Not claiming to know all the answers, or being obsessed with finding all the answers or, even more importantly, not insisting that others find the same answers I’ve found, has been very liberating indeed.

  2. #2 by Christian on June 2, 2008 - 4:03 pm

    Ah but Rod, that line at the end of the Bible: “I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: If anyone adds anything to them, God will add to him the plagues described in this book” – doesn’t that suggest that nothing else written or said after the Bible had been written should be worth considering?

    But when John of Patmos wrote these words how could he know that later church fathers would eventually place his Revelation at the end of a book that did not even exist in his time?

  3. #3 by logiopath on June 2, 2008 - 7:36 pm

    Watchdog? Hmm. One of those squat British bulldogs? Hmm.

  4. #4 by logiopath on June 2, 2008 - 7:38 pm

    How about Chris “Alpo” . . . (That would be CAB).

    Say, I rather like this.

  5. #5 by Christian on June 3, 2008 - 8:46 am

    Huh? Bruce, I warned you about weed from untested sources.

  6. #6 by netprophet on June 3, 2008 - 12:09 pm

    Chris,
    I believe maybe John was referring only to the book of Revelations and not the entire New Testament or the entire Bible.

    I’ve found the real danger in discarding old religious baggage is in the recreation of new baggage of one’s own personal religion. I can’t see allowing any religiosity back into my discovery process at all. It is better and safer for me to simply work on my relationship to God through the teachings that He has already shown, and is showing, me to be true. Any questions I have I can trust that He will answer as they become important to that relationship.

    The “Good News” is not a religion, nor was it ever intended to be. It is a message that God the Father has provided a “Way” for mankind to find and know Him through His Son Jesus as guided by the Holy Spirit. No more…No less!

    As Christ Himself stated in Luke 4:43
    “But he said, “I must preach the good news of the kingdom of God to the other towns also, because that is why I was sent.”

  7. #7 by Christian on June 3, 2008 - 3:55 pm

    Gotcha Net. Of course that was what John was referring to.

    I think you are right to recognize the danger of new religiosity. It is almost inevitable. In fact I think that it may be impossible for us to not to develop personal ‘religions’ that are based upon our own histories and perspectives.

    I think that they’re are much more than 10,000 denominations (is that the number or is it 1,000?) but more like 5 or 6 billion religions out there. At some point in our combined futures perhaps we will all share the same one (I’m talking about ‘heaven’ here, whatever that will be)

  8. #8 by logiopath on June 3, 2008 - 8:29 pm

    Chris,

    I never inhaled.

    I don’t know how many “denominations” exist, but it sure is a lot.

    Share the same religion? Here’s a joke on that vein:

    God made a phone call to Rome. He wanted to tell the Pope some news,
    “Pope,” God said, “I’m suspending free-will. Henceforth, all people will have the same religion.” The pope was stunned–but saw the opportunity.

    “Yes, Lord, Your Servant will offer his life to help you in this new faith.”

    God needed to give the Pope some clarification–“By the way, Pope, I’m calling from Salt Lake City.”

  9. #9 by Christian on June 3, 2008 - 9:01 pm

    Good one.

  10. #10 by logiopath on June 3, 2008 - 10:20 pm

    Okay, so these guys–hey, hey! Not the hook–hey, watch my gold chain
    ow, ow, ow . . .

Leave a Reply

