The Joy of Teaching

jesus-the-teacher-2.jpg 
One of my bosses shared this with us today. I wish I knew who came up with it. 

Then Jesus took his disciples up the mountain and, gathering them around him, he taught them, saying:

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven
Blessed are the meek
Blessed are they that mourn
Blessed are the merciful
Blessed are they that thirst for justice
Blessed are you when persecuted
Blessed are you when you suffer
Be glad and rejoice for your reward is great in heaven

Then Simon Peter said, “Are we supposed to know this?”
And Andrew said, “Do we have to write this down?”
And James said, “Is this examinable?”
And Phillip said, “Is there an answer guide in the library?”
And Bartholomew said, “What came after poor?”
And John said, “The other disciples didn’t have to learn this!”
And Mark said, “Don’t take the overhead off yet.”
And Matthew went to the bathroom.

One of the Pharisees who was present asked to see Jesus’ lesson plan and enquired of Jesus, “Where are your anticipatory set and your objectives in the cognitive domain?”

And Jesus wept.

(Author Unknown)

  1. #1 by Alan on January 31, 2008 - 5:53 pm

    This sort of illustrates what learning has become in our modern era. In grad school I remember it was memorize all this junk so you could regurgitate on test and the forget it and move on to the next thing you need to memorize. (Oh, and then memorize all you ever learned for your comprehensive exams.) Then get out in the real world and learn what you really need to know for your job.

    Somehow I suspect the disciples weren’t walking around taking notes and “studying for chapter tests”.

  2. #2 by logiopath on January 31, 2008 - 10:37 pm

    Hmm. The greatest joy I had when teaching was a card I received at the end of my first year. The child came from a troubled situation–and the dad was a genuine good guy who had his share of hard times (who hasn’t).

    The card expressed appreciation for what I tried to do for the child during the year.

    The teaching years have had their ups and downs, more like their Mt. Everests and Death Valleys, so to speak. Through it all, I remember that card.

    I think of other roads I may have taken–writing or some other venue of teaching. Then I think of some of the kids I have helped over the years. I may not always be appreciated, and God knows, I’ve erred many times. However, I know that my presence made a difference for a child on a particular day. Maybe someone else would have been there, but at a given moment, my abilities and sympathy were needed at that time and place.

    logiowhatshisname

  3. #3 by logiopath on January 31, 2008 - 10:46 pm

    Comedy?

    Can I use the bathroom?

    It’s coming out.

    I need haaaalp.

    My back hurts, can I go to the Nurse?

    You have something orange on your lip.

    Don’t say nothin’; you a snitch?

    My mom said to call the office if I’m scared.

    But it’s mine.

    If you’re so impatient, why are you a teacher?

    Can I leave early?

    Find another joke.

    Yes your teacherness.

    That’s not fair!

    (Ahh, the Joys)

  4. #4 by logiopath on January 31, 2008 - 10:59 pm

    And the bizarre . . .

    (From a child)

    “Evil Allie flushed Barbie down the toilet.”

    (From a Mom)

    “Laura understands Karma, don’t you Laura.”

    (From the same Mom)

    “75 % of our food should be alive.”

    (From another parent)

    “You’ve put me in a very bad position with this man.”

    (From another parent, same class–I lost a child’s work–I told the child, she probably would have gotten an A. )

    “When I heard that, I was livid.”

    (From another parent)

    “Don’t make a specticle of my son!”

    (From a principal)

    “You’re making (these families) more dysfunctional.”

    (Same principal)

    “I’m concerned about (your) self-destructive behavior.”

    (Same principal)

    “We have to find another place for Bruce, it just isn’t here.”

    (A VP at a high school)

    “Like I (always say) if you’re gonna cheat, cheat well!”

    (From a, ahem, boyfriend of a mother)

    “I don’t see why he has to do work at school!”

    I could go on for hours!

Leave a Reply

