Disrespicting a Gas Pump

sad-pump.jpgI got gas today. I wasn’t real happy about it it, since it cost me over $2.70 a gallon. After I filled up my tank the pump began to beep, asking me in its insistent little way if I wanted to take my receipt. As usual, I deliberately ignored the machine, indulging in a little psychological payback for ‘ripping’ me off; “Forget it, pump. You can beep all you want, sucker. Take your receipt and…..” For the first time I stopped myself in mid silent-rant. What was I doing?

I suddenly became aware of all the harmless little ways I took out my anger, ways in which I never really hurt anyone. Like the time my local bank had been bought by a big national company without our knowing about it. We didn’t realize (the Lord giveth and the fine print taketh away!) that the new bank had a policy that all deposited checks were held for 5 business days. Suddenly we were being charged hundreds of dollars in overdraft fees even though we had more than enough in the bank to cover all the checks. Since they refused to accommodate us, we withdrew all of our money. Except for $1.42 cents which I left in savings just to aggravate them. They have been sending me statements on that account for over 2 years now.

And then there was a time I closed out my credit cards because of the way they kept finding reasons to raise my interest rates. I made a point of overpaying a couple of these companies by a few bucks or so. Occasionally they would send me checks for the balance but I wouldn’t cash them. It was worth it to know that I was costing them money, albeit not very much.

Even though I hadn’t really hurt anyone personally, I realized that there was a victim here. Myself. By refusing to let things go, by letting circumstances get to me, even just a little bit, I was allowing some of that worldly poison to seep into my heart. And like the leavening that we have been talking about on another thread, that poison has a way of growing, working its way through my entire being.

So from now on I will try to refrain from kicking the lawn mower. Even though it may deserve it.

  1. #1 by Ambrosia de Milano on October 21, 2007 - 10:29 am

    We don’t know why Jesus picked that time–maybe he did it every sabbath, but it was only recorded twice.

  2. #2 by lovewillbringustogether on October 21, 2007 - 10:48 am

    Good words of advice from Ambrose ‘no-toes’ De Milano πŸ˜‰

    Left me astray? What makes you think i need any help from you in THAT particular department – like i said dude – I got anger issues! ( meow!!!) – and y’welcome Big C – I’ll try to do myself more justice next time – that ok with you? πŸ™‚

    You keep up that BB crap though and i am not promising where my next outburst might be aimed! πŸ˜‰

    Can we please go back to lwbut or failing that the shorter and increasingly inappropriate, it seems, ‘love’ πŸ™‚

    Full agreement about what our less than charitable impulses do to us, but, clearly JC was human on his mother’s side so we can just put such outbursts down to human frailty until we all learn to get along and do like the Dude told us- Love the Lord as yourself and love your fellowman – even the anonymous ones!

    Oh yeah, and all that stuff in Matthew 5 and other places!

    Oopsy! I did it a-gain!

    Bless me Father etc…:-)

  3. #3 by Ambrosia de Milano on October 21, 2007 - 8:15 pm

    That dumb ole’ bank! They know better than to mess with the most powerful man in Howard County (not residing on the Carroll Plantation).

  4. #4 by Christian on October 21, 2007 - 8:26 pm

    Ambrosia, you miss my point yet again. (sigh). But what can one expect from an assemblage of mandarin oranges, pineapple chunks, lime Jello, coconut and whipped cream.

    Well we can’t all be the sheriff of Mayberry. But still, my actions were impotent, infantile and indulgent. Ring any bells, big daddy? 8)

  5. #5 by tam on October 22, 2007 - 1:42 am

    Oh Yay! A Post that doesn’t bend my brain too much!

    So i filled up my Jeep today at $3.04 per gallon with a grand total of $51.04 “NO, you may NOT top it off Mr.!”

    And about 8 years ago I got a parking ticket downtown for being more than 12 inches from the curb. Seriously!? Who goes around and measures? Really! No, I am not still miffed πŸ˜‰ Anyway, the silly fine was $5.00. So after much thought (about 3,2 seconds) I decided this would be a great time to get rid of some pennies I had in a bowl at home. So I sent them 499 of them. I often wonder how many times the county clerk counted those 499 pennies just certain she had missed one! Evil, huh?

  6. #6 by lovewillbringustogether on October 22, 2007 - 3:22 am

    You whiny little pussies! πŸ™‚

    Try paying $6.60 ( US $6.00 roughly) a ‘gallon’!!!

    Guess why i have a dual fuel ( lpg/petrol ) Ford?

    I can fill up for around $15 ( US $13 50) – yes please – a top up would be nice – and buy yourself a candy bar! πŸ™‚

    ( NO WAY is this me! πŸ˜‰ )

    Tam – i don’t want to burst your bubble of deep devilish satisfaction but i’m pretty certain most offices that handle money have cash counting machines and they know you owe them a penny – interest will be accruing – trust me!

    Now Big C has succeeded in showing us all how self-deceiving we are being, the challenge is – can we stop Disrespecting that pump? And ourselves?? πŸ™‚

  7. #7 by Christian on October 22, 2007 - 6:36 am

    What do you drive, love? A moped? $15.00 a fill up?

  8. #8 by Christian on October 22, 2007 - 8:25 am

    Tam, if even you can stoop that low I feel somehow less loathesome.

    I just remembered another nasty thing I did not too long ago. In line at the local A&P derivative they had very long lines and the only aisles open were the self-serve check outs. Apparently none of them were working properly and the lines grew longer. I became peeved as I watched what appeared to be the three or four managers conversing animatedly, perhaps on break, towards the back of the store. No relief was in sight. I left my purchases in the cart and walked out.

    Oh, did I tiell you that my grocery order also conatained a couple of gallons of ice cream?

  9. #9 by tam on October 22, 2007 - 11:11 am

    That is very ow Christian, very low… The ice cream gods will surely haunt you!

  10. #10 by lovewillbringustogether on October 22, 2007 - 11:33 pm

    See above Big C – I drive a Ford ( Fairlane! – gas guzzler) My lpg fuel bill last time was for 33.9 cents a litre (US 1.40 a gallon) – just remembered – your gallons are ‘short’ – we use the Imperial ( bigger) ones so make that closer to $1.30 πŸ™‚

    Why anyone still uses ‘normal’ gas is a mystery to me?

Leave a Reply

