Pint Sized Preachers

Check out this report from ABC’s 20/20.  Looks very “Hollywood” to me. 

http://cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/ver/247.1/popup/index.php?cl=4501215

  1. #1 by 1poet4man on October 15, 2007 - 10:41 pm

    Christian,

    I would love to read your take on this – I am sure you can guess mine…

    It’s sad really – not the children; their parents, and the community of worshipers who support these parents.

    Smacks of exploitation to me, but what do I know I am an agnostic…I only expect my children to be children.

    Poetman

  2. #2 by preechaman7 on October 16, 2007 - 8:14 pm

    I agree with Poetman. This does smell of explotation. I have a 9 and 6 year old. No disrespect but what in the world can they do but parrot what they see. Really troubling.

  3. #3 by Christian on October 16, 2007 - 11:23 pm

    I am reminded of child stars – stage parents pushing their children on to fame and fortune. But that’s an old song. What about the people that go to hear them preach? Is it a perverse fascination or are do they feel that they are being ministered to.

    I wonder if mini-preachers are any ‘shallower’ than most of what can be found on TBN.

  4. #4 by Ambrosia de Milano on October 21, 2007 - 6:19 am

    I have no question that a person can be called at a young age–but I think this is a matter of “Pint Sized” showmanship–especially the little fella in the $1,000 suits, placing prayer rags on people’s faces and calling himself “God’s Little Man.”

    The little blonde guy? He’s simply repeating what others say–I remember the “do you mind your parents” line at a VBS–I thought “No, my parents are old enough to mind themselves.”

    P. S., CB, Funny you should have a segment about Pint Sized Preachers. Sort of like me having a clip from Jabba the Hut.

    Ambrosia

  5. #5 by Ambrosia de Milano on October 21, 2007 - 6:20 am

    P. P. S.–Talk about Postmodernism–Who would dare argue with this? Show it around at the You Know Where School, and most would agree with the little preacher dudes.

  6. #6 by Christian on October 21, 2007 - 7:58 am

    Ambrosia, you are a big man inside as well. And I may be short but I am certainly not little, as my doctore will often remind me.

  7. #7 by Ambrosia de Milano on October 21, 2007 - 10:36 am

    I think the whole thing is hlarious, ‘specially T. D. Jakes Jr.

  8. #8 by William Goldstone on October 22, 2007 - 1:36 am

    It’s very unfortunate that the world greatest leaders often take decisions that self propagate themselves and members of their families…what we as the general Christian population should do is satnd up against these senseless and self directed initiatives and in the process help these leaders see their earlier walk with Christ which i assure you is not as they conduct themselves today…let us help them find their place again.

Leave a Reply

