Good Book: “If God Is Love: Rediscovering Grace in an Ungracious World”

If God is LoveI just finished this book and thought it was superb. Very easy reading, short chapters, light and airy styling. Although written by two men, Philip Gulley and James Mulholland (both Quaker ministers), it was written in the first person singular. It is essentially a compendium of their experiences and thoughts of Jesus and his kingdom.   

I was lead to this book by reading Gulley’s blurb on the jacket of a Brennan Manning book . Gulley has a series of books about hometown Indiana and has been compared to Garrison Keillor.  He also has (or had?) a program on public radio.  I am looking forward to checking him out more thoroughly.

  1. #1 by anita on October 11, 2007 - 5:54 pm

    If God is Love” is a great book although I was even more excited about their other book called “If Grace is True: Why God Will Save Every Person.” It was one of those readings that really started a shift in my own thinking in terms of the extent of grace and the notion of universal reconciliation. Both books are simple reads and at the same time stretching and challenging. All that is simple, isn’t easy…as they say 🙂

  2. #2 by Ambrosia de Milano on October 11, 2007 - 6:36 pm

    Found something monosyllabic?

  3. #3 by Christian on October 11, 2007 - 10:02 pm

    Thanks Anita. I intend to read that one next. Right now I am reading Huston Smith’s “The Soul of Christianity” . Very good.

  4. #4 by jonathanbrink on October 12, 2007 - 2:19 am

    I love the title.

  5. #5 by preechaman7 on October 12, 2007 - 10:54 am

    I too have read their “If God is True…” book and like anita found it did the same thing, really started a shift in my thinking about Grace. Another good one is Phillip Yancy’s, “What’s so amazing about grace?”. Also, as you mentioned, anything by Brennen Manning. I really like his work. Reading his work really started my healing process.
    Good stuff on your post, “To Church or Not to Church”

  6. #6 by Christian on October 12, 2007 - 11:30 am

    Thanks preechaman. I’ve read just about all of Yancey and Manning. The Ragamuffin Gospel was pivotal for me as well. A lot of my friends won’t read the book – too touchy-feely, they say. I don’t know – those scenes that take place at the AA retreat – not very touchy-feely. The word brutal comes to mind. In fact, I think Manning sums it up with his phrases “ruthless trust” and ‘relentless love’. Great stuff.

    The only problem I have with Manning is that I can’t remember which books I have read. The cover art and the content don’t really stand apart from each other. And I find that Yancey has a tendency to repeat the same anecdotes again and again. This is too apparent if you are reading some of his books back to back. But good stuff as well.

  1. love » Good Book: “If God Is Love: Rediscovering Grace in an Ungracious …

Leave a Reply

